Rushlight Awards



The Rushlight Awards are judged by leading experts in their chosen fields who are entirely independent of sponsors, headline partners and Eventure Media.  They have been invited to join the panels due to their impartiality, vast experience and knowledge.

The judges for the Rushlight Awards 2020-21 are as follows:

Damitha AdikaariDirector for Science & Innovation for Climate & Energy, BEIS

David AitkenAssociate Director, Head of Cleantech Ventures Incubation, Carbon Trust

Chris Bagley – Head of Infrastructure, KTN

Jane Beasley – Director Beasley Associates, Associate Local Partnerships LLP

Tina Benfield – Senior Technical Advisor, CIWM

Caroline Bragg Head of Policy, the Association for Decentralised Energy

Jeff Douglasformer Strategy Manager Smart Systems & Heat, Energy Systems Catapult

Andy EastlakeManaging Director, Low Carbon Vehicle Partnership

Prof Paul Ekins  Professor of Energy and Environment Policy UCL Energy Institute, University College London, former Member of the Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution, co-founder of Forum for the Future

Prof David Elliott – Prof of Technology Policy and co-Director of the Energy & Environment Research Unit, The Open University

Geraint Evans – Bioenergy Programme Manager, Energy Technologies Institute

Rukhsana Faiz – Programme Manager Carbon Limiting Technologies, Non-Executive Director CEAD, former Chair, London & South East Group, The Institution of Chemical Engineers and Environmental Industry Sector Director, WSP.

Toni GladdingSenior Lecturer in Environmental Engineering, Open University

Malcolm Grimston – Senior Research Fellow Energy Policy and Management Group, Imperial College and Associate Fellow Chatham House

Beverley Gower-JonesManaging Partner Clean Growth Fund and CEO Carbon Limiting Technologies, former Performance Director QinetiQ and Vice President Shell Technology Ventures

Jim Halliday – Head of Energy Research Unit at (STFC) Rutherford Appleton Laboratory

Nicola HendersonNon-Executive Director and Chair Technology Forum at British Water, Managing Director at Aquability OPS Ltd

David Lloyd Owen – MD Envisager Ltd, author of 5 books on water markets and management and adviser to a number of investment funds, eg 3i plc and Pictet

Prof Alan Lowdon – Dealmaker | Global Entrepreneur Programme (GEP) | Technology, Entrepreneurship and Advanced Manufacturing Sector Cluster| Department for International Trade 

Craig Lucas Director of Energy Transformation at Mott MacDonald, former Director of Science and Innovation at BEIS

Jim Marshallformer Policy & Business Advisor, Water UK

Jenni McDonnellKnowledge Transfer Manager, More Sustainable Energy

Richard Millerformer Head of Sustainability, Innovate UK

Prof John MurlisVice President Environmental Protection UK, Vice Chair of the European Federation of Clean Air Associations and former Chief Scientist and Director of Strategy Environment Agency

Prof John Oakeyformer Head of Energy Technology Centre Cranfield University

Isabella O’DowdClimate & Energy Specialist, WWF

Amit RamaDirector UK Climate Investments, a JV between the Green Investment Group and BEIS

Prof Carolyn Roberts – Professor of the Environment at Gresham College

Prof Tony RoskillyDirector, Sir Joseph Swan Centre for Energy Research, Newcastle University

Prof Nilay ShahHead of Department of Chemical Engineering, Imperial College

Phil Sheppard – Research Associate, Loughborough University

John Stewart – Chairman UK Noise Association

Clare Wenner – Consultant and former Head of Renewable Transport, Renewable Energy Association

Mike Westonformer Operations Manager, UKERC

Paul WinstanleyConsultant and former Project Manager, Energy Technologies Institute LLP

Jonathan WitheyBusiness Development Manager, Planet First

Judging rules:

  1. The judges’ decision will be final and no correspondence will be entered into concerning the judging process or the decisions made.
  2. The judges can move an entry to a different category if it is felt that it is more appropiate in the other category.
  3. The judges can choose not to give an award if the entries are not deemed to be of a suitable standard.
  4. Judges have the opportunity to give special commendations to entries of particular merit.
  5. No lobbying of the judges will be allowed.